Watershed at Café Roux


On Saturday, 4 January 2014, I discovered by sheer chance that Watershed was playing at Café Roux (one of my absolute favourite places to watch a show) and the thought of seeing them overwhelmed me! I decided to call and see if I could book a spot.  Unfortunately my response was met with ‘sorry we are fully booked’.  I was totally disappointed, however, by 1pm I made up my mind that I was not going to let the opportunity slip through my fingers.  Café Roux are known for their scrumptious food and delicious coffees.  The farm is surrounded by lovely little shops and I thought I would just browse around unnoticed, listen to the music from a distance and take some photos. So with my camera tucked securely over my shoulder, I took the trip down to Noordhoek.

ImageAs I approached I could see cars stretched out in the distance, filling up both sides of the road (no surprise).   I decided to drive down the road that runs parallel to the farm and was lucky enough to find a parking spot right under a tree (smiley face).  Upon walking into the grounds, I could see the parking lot was jammed full.  The lawn was packed to capacity with people and the seated area was buzzing.  There was no music playing when I arrived, so I asked one of the shop attendants what was happening and she said they were having a 5 minute break.  She then proceeded to describe in detail what a beautiful voice the main singer had.

As I was browsing, a lady I knew came up and smiled at me.  I asked her if she was enjoying the show and she responded with the words ‘loving it’. I then told her about my phone call and she immediately said ‘we have spare seating at our table, please join us’.  It felt a bit odd at first, but once I arrived at the table, her family was so warm and friendly and welcomed me.

 ImageI thought to myself, opportunities like this are so few and far between, I then knew it was the best decision I had made to come.ImageAs they started performing I couldn’t believe my ears.  Memories came flooding back of having heard their music over the years.  The first thought that entered my mind was why had I not ever been to one of their shows?  I am sure that the whole of S.A. know who Watershed is, as they have been around for many years.  ImageThe band is known as a ‘pop-rock band’ and was formed in 1998. Watershed have grown with much success over the years.  Image

The band comprises of – Craig Hinds (Vocals, Piano, Acoustic guitar),   Howie Combrink (Drums), James Sunney (Bass), Gideon Botes (Electric and Acoustic Guitar).

Songs like ‘Indigo Girl’, ‘Letters’, ‘Close My Eyes’ brought internal tears, instant goosebumps, and a warm fuzzy feeling filled me. I felt like I had been on a long journey and had finally arrived at my destination.  It was like a hidden treasure I knew always existed, yet never before had I seen it and now the treasure box had opened and spilled out before my very own eyes! The treasure was shining so brightly it blinded me with its beauty – the internal tears flowed openly.

Image

Watch their video here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a27IgsQckTI

I left with a feeling of jubilation and can say that I am so happy I wasn’t swayed by doubt, but that I made my dream come true.

In case you have never heard of Watershed or you would like to experience the treasure, that is Watershed check out their facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/Watershed

Thanks to Cafe Roux for always providing tasty food…not to mention ‘food for the soul’. Find them here: https://www.facebook.com/caferouxCapeTown

Please leave a comment, thank you!

